Cleveland Music Scene


It’s Thursday… by ClevelandBloggers
April 30, 2010, 3:20 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Awwwww mannnnnn……..

At least there’s always music to save us from the boredom while we wait for the Friday that never seems to come! My recent obsession: Ida Maria. This lady is awesome. She’s like 1/3 ska, 1/3 punk, and 1/3 something else that I can’t figure out. Ida Maria has a deep, raspy, chain smoker-esque voice and an “I don’t care” attitude. Sometimes when she shouts, her voice cracks…which adds to the (excuse my French) “bad-ass-ted-ness” of the music.

The majority of Ida Maria’s songs are pretty simple, and really easy to sing along to. Her most popular song is “I Like You So Much Better When You’re Naked“, off of her latest album, Fortress ’round My Heart. My favorite song from Fortress ’round My Heart is “Stella“. It’s a lot slower than most of the songs on the album. Ida Maria’s songs have been used a few times on TV. Her song “Keep Me Warm” was used in a lotion commercial (woot?) and “I Like You So Much Better When You’re Naked” was featured in Greys Anatomy and My Life As Liz.

Fortress ’round My Heart is the perfect album for when you’re mad, bored, sad…or just need to move around! If you like Ida Maria, you might like Vampire Weekend, The Hives, The Aquabats, The Bird and the Bee, Blur, Black Kids, Noah and the Whale, The Ting Tings, Regina Spektor, and We Are Scientists <——click the band names to hear music from them! Enjoy, and check out the video for Ida Maria’s song “Oh My God” featuring Iggy Pop!

-Brenna

(P.S.) What was up with the short lunch today? Haha

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

